Non-Tokamak Perfect Magnetic Bottle

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

kamyers1

Non-Tokamak Perfect Magnetic Bottle

Post by kamyers1 »

Let me preface this by saying that I am a non-nuclear engineer, not a physicist. It has also been over 30 years since I studied any of this in college. That being said...

I was reading about plasma confinement difficulties in the tokamak, and confinement time concerns with the polywell and similar designs that involve cusp or curvilinear plasma leakage paths. As a result, I came up with a relatively simple design for a theoretically "perfect" magnetic bottle. Unlike the polywell, it would have no cusp or curvilinear leakage paths. Unlike the tokamak, it would not accelerate the plasma around the circumference of a torroid, leading to confinement difficulties. Note that although this device is not a tokamak, it would have pseudo-radial symmetry vaguely similar to (but different from) a tokamak, rather than spherical symmetry like a polywell. I should also note that this design should not have the assymetric magnetic field issues on the inside and outside of the toroid that are encountered with a tokamak.

As I thought this idea through further, I quickly became concerned with ion thermalization. I could get the ions into the bottle with an appropriate ion gun, but without a mechanism to maintain their kinetic energy, they would rapidly thermalize. Obviously just confining the ions in the magnetic field doesn't do much good if you can't maintain the necessary energy levels for fusion to occur.