Why is polywell supposed to be better than cusp confinement?

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

Art Carlson

Why is polywell supposed to be better than cusp confinement?

Post by Art Carlson »

Greetings! After some interesting though inconclusive exchanges with some of you on cosmiclog.msnbc.msn.com, I thought it would be fun to drop by here. Allow me to introduce myself. I have a Ph.D. in plasma physics from the University of Washington, where I worked on Field-Reversed Configurations. After that spent 16 years working on tokamaks at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics in Germany. The last time I worked as a plasma physicist was 5 years ago. I am currently working on making a catalog of galaxy clusters using grid computing technology.
With this biography, it should be clear that my interest in the polywell arises out of a long-standing interest in fusion in general and alternate concepts in particular. I believe that the tokamak is a long shot as a practical reactor, but it's the best game in town. If I can, I will uncover the soft underbelly of the polywell concept and eviscerate it. Then you will all thank me kindly for stopping your waste of time, and we will all move on. If, on the other hand, you are able to convince me using solid physics that the polywell has a real potential, I will meekly withdraw my arrogance and claim that I said that all along.