Polywell for spacecraft

Discuss the technical details of an "open source" community-driven design of a polywell reactor.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

Quaoar

Polywell for spacecraft

Post by Quaoar »

Hi all,
I'm an italian dilectant SF writer. I was looking for realistic spacecraft for interplanetary travel in our solar sistem, and I found on-line Dr. Bussard's very interesting spacecraft based of fusor Polywell.

Dr. Bussard's engine, QED/ARC, QED/CSR and DFP, match very good with the plot of my novel, so I intend mount it on my fictional space ships, but I have two question for the experts of this forum. Can you help me please?

1) I found a lot of detail about QED/ARC, QED/CSR-A and DFP, but I founs very little information about a Dr Bussard's thruster called QED/CSR-B. On a paper on-line I read only that acceleration of propellant is not thermal, but is via a system called "collective acceleration in wave traveling beam".
How does it work exactly?
Is something like an electron beam driven plasma accelerator?
Wich are the limits of specific impusle of this kind of thruster?
Where can I find more information about it?

2) It is technically feasible (in the novel we are almost in 3000 BC) to use the relativistic electron beam (REB) of a QED rocket to drive also a free electron laser gun, something like a powerfull QED/FEL gun?

Thanks to all and sorry for my poor English

Quaoar

djolds1

Re: Polywell for spacecraft

Post by djolds1 »

Quaoar wrote:1) I found a lot of detail about QED/ARC, QED/CSR-A and DFP, but I founs very little information about a Dr Bussard's thruster called QED/CSR-B. On a paper on-line I read only that acceleration of propellant is not thermal, but is via a system called "collective acceleration in wave traveling beam".
How does it work exactly?
Is something like an electron beam driven plasma accelerator?
Wich are the limits of specific impusle of this kind of thruster?
Where can I find more information about it?