Manipulation of the fields to increase the collision rate?

Discuss the technical details of an "open source" community-driven design of a polywell reactor.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

ccain84

Manipulation of the fields to increase the collision rate?

Post by ccain84 »

First, I'm a web developer who is in WAY over my head, and reading many of these technical posts gives me a huge mental inferiority complex. So, please forgive my ignorance.

Anywho, here's the basic idea I had: subtley manipulate the magnetic fields so as to increase the number and "quality" of collisions.

Here's a specific idea, probably half-crocked, idea of how one might achieve this.

1) Oscillate the magnetic field (and therefore the electron well) along just one of the axis. This might by itself increase the collision rate because the ions would periodically be "running into themselves."

2) Of those ions that escape the grid, use a second set of external magnets (electromagnets or permanent?) to steer as many ions as possible onto the same axis as the internal oscillation. Then as they are re-circulated back into the magrid, they will have a greater likelihood of colliding "head-on" with the internally oscillating ions because they're moving along the same axis.

A not-so-great analogy might be the turbocharging of a car engine; to increase the power, you intentionally jam more air into the engine than would normally be present.

It just occurred to me as I was trying to follow the discussions of collision probabilities that you might be able to increase this probability via manipulation of the fields.

Or is this the same idea as the POPS thingy??
Of all the gin joints in all the world...

D Tibbets

Post by D Tibbets »