Polywell vs Monkhurst FRC

Discuss life, the universe, and everything with other members of this site. Get to know your fellow polywell enthusiasts.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

Grant Castillou

Polywell vs Monkhurst FRC

Post by Grant Castillou »

Hi eveybody. I am not a scientist or engineer, but I have enjoyed reading
about the Polywell development in the last few weeks. I have also read a little about the Monkhurst-Rotorker FRC approach. How would you describe the current state of the art between MRFRC and Polywell? Is it as viable as Polywell re development costs and potential payoff? I've seen the news about TriAlpha raising $40 million for the MR effort. I just don't have the ability to understand how these two approachs compare in all respects.

Thanks for any opinion,
Grant

Zixinus

Post by Zixinus »

Welcome to the forum. :)

Can you link details regarding this "Monkhurst-Rotorker FRC" you speak of?

Grant Castillou

MR link

Post by Grant Castillou »

Here is a link that has a link to their patent, and other info.
http://powerandcontrol.blogspot.com/200 ... -news.html

Grant

Zixinus

Post by Zixinus »

This is "Focus Fusion". http://focusfusion.org/log/index.php

Heard of it before. Had very little scientific literature available on the main site. On their forum, I only saw the "fusion promise" dogma repeated over and over, and criticism responded with "thrust me/him". I might be exaggerating, but I found little of interest and smelled like a con. I'm not convinced it is, but I do not see any new information, heck their site is down now.

As for competition, I'm not that worried. Polywell and Focus Fusion is pretty much in the same pool, and have every reason to help each other. In fact, the two are different ideas for IEC fusion. They have different properties, and I now see that the race is on which one will do breakeven first. I just hope that both advocates can remain civil enough.