PDO explains twentieth century warming?

Discuss life, the universe, and everything with other members of this site. Get to know your fellow polywell enthusiasts.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

seedload

PDO explains twentieth century warming?

Post by seedload »

I read this online paper by Roy Spencer:

http://www.weatherquestions.com/Global- ... al-PDO.htm

Since the paper peaked my interest, I downloaded the data and played with it myself. Here is the PDO Index data I downloaded.

Using ONLY these data, I was able to make a reconstruction of twentieth century warming completely based on the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (PDO). Below is a graph I created. The pink plot is the actual temperature record. The blue plot is my reconstruction.

Pretty sick.

Don't get me wrong. I am no scientist. In fact, I am not very smart. I don't write well. I make many mistakes. Obviously, I am making a fundamental mistake in being able to show such a strong corellation.

I think my fundamental mistake (and Roy Spencer's) is in how I am treating the PDO Index. The PDO Index is, after all, derived from measurements of temperature. Now, the index pruports to remove the global warming signal by subtracting mean global temperature anomalies but I don't really understand the process. Probably, the warming is still in the data somehow and my method gets at it.

So, whoever wants to help me out or has any interest, please find the holes in what I did for me.