Low Pressure Wiffleball

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

JohnSmith

Low Pressure Wiffleball

Post by JohnSmith »

Not sure if this should be design or theory, but here goes.

I'm an undergrad student, I'd like to do some research, but I don't know much about fusion. So I've been looking at trying to do research on the wiffleball effect.
My school doesn't seem to have an UHV chamber for undergrad use (wonder why?) so I'm wondering how hard the vacuum has to be for wiffleball conditions. I know that it has to be on the order of 1E-8 torr for fusion, but that mostly seems to be about arcing and fuel poisoning. Could I form a wiffleball with cheaper equipment?
Last edited by JohnSmith on Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Solo

Post by Solo »

I'm looking into the same kind of thing myself (undergrad research.) hmm. From Dr. B's papers, looks like they expected arcing to start ~ 3E-6 Torr. Of course, it depends on the applied voltage, spacing, and construction (presence of sharp points, quality of insulating standoff/feedthru). It's not imperative to have fusion-relevant ion temperatures for what we're looking at, so perhaps a lower drive voltage could allow a higher initial neutral pressure, in terms of arcing.

As far as the effect of pressure on the whiffleball, I'm not sure how much it can stand. The machine will ionize the neutrals and draw them in, so the background pressure will drop when the machine runs. (Fusors do this too). But I guess the bottom line is that you probably need a pretty decent vacuum system, unfortunately. I'm going to guess you'll need at least 1e-4Torr, maybe more like 1e-6.

drmike, Tom, care to chime in?

MSimon

Post by MSimon »

How do you expect to create the wiffle ball at low cost?

1. Magnetic field
2. Electron gun
3. Ion/electron separation
4. Open box machine