Energy requirement?

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

apouliot

Energy requirement?

Post by apouliot »

Hi questions from a newbie here. I look in the forum but I didn't see those question answered elsewhere

Supposing we have a designed 100MW PB11 reactor.

What would be the minimal amount of energy required to have a self sustaining reaction? And I don't mean for having a 100MW output but just enough to have a fusion that power itself(Q=1).

Also how long would an external power supply would require to sustain that power requirement for getting to a fusion rate necessary for Q=1 or little bit above? Are we talking µS/mS/Second/minutes?

From that question how much energy would it take to sustain the full reaction with 100MW(deliverable) output power?

I ask because I'm interested to see what would be the timing requirement for a reactor for going from 0 power(void installed) -> Q=1 -> Full Power. I suppose an external power source is needed to get the reactor to Q>=1 and after that the reactor can self power itself to full power, with some external control.

TallDave

Post by TallDave »

I think Nebel has said their designs anticipate 5MW drive for a 100MW reactor.

IIRC the physics are so fast it would come up to power in milliseconds.

There would of course be a small delay between power production and the ability to power the drive with the fusion products. Not sure what that would be, and it probably depends to some extent on design. M Simon might have an idea. I would think it's pretty fast for a direct-conversion machine.

Art Carlson

Re: Energy requirement?

Post by Art Carlson »

apouliot wrote:Supposing we have a designed 100MW PB11 reactor.

What would be the minimal amount of energy required to have a self sustaining reaction? And I don't mean for having a 100MW output but just enough to have a fusion that power itself(Q=1).